9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this recipe. The use of the contest ingredients was great, and it tasted really good together. Bacon and tomato are a can't miss combination. My only complaint is that I don't think there's enough onion in it. I ended up adding about twice as much. But, I just really love onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie July 15, 2009

A BLT is my favorite sandwich and blue cheese is my favorite salad dressing. I love avocadoes in or on anything or by themselves. What more could I ask for? This salad was all that I expected (and more)! The dressing was awesome. The salad had all of my favorite salad ingredients. It looked fantastic and was easy to make. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY July 15, 2009

I enjoyed all the veggies in this salad. I did use veggie bacon. I used fresh dill from the garden. Lots to like. Thanks and good luck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 14, 2009

I cut the recipe down to serve one, and instead of eating as a salad I stuffed into a fresh out of the oven pita pocket. Did not include the optional nuts or mushrooms in the salad or the dill in the dressing. Found that the dressing was not creamy enough so added more mayo. Also was not thrilled with the cheddar and blue cheese together . . . they seemed to conflict with each other; next time I'll use a ranch dressing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench July 14, 2009

Very nice salad. I loved the variety of the ingredients...made for a good 'meal'. I thought the blue cheese was a little strong, and overpowered the taste of the avocados. Other than that, it was wonderful, and will certainly be made again. I will however, tone down the blue cheese portion. Great contribution to the contest. Good luck to you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 July 14, 2009

This made a delicious and hearty dinner salad. I used spring mix in place of the romaine and found the dressing needed a little thinning. This may have been due to the thick Greek yogurt that was used to prepare the dressing. Instead of chopping the eggs and tomatoes, I quartered them and placed the around the edges of the salad. This will definitely be repeated in my house. Thanks and good luck in the contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 14, 2009

After reading the intro I was expecting the recipe directions to include decorating the salad in the rows of a traditional cobb salad. I was surprised when it didn't, but did it anyway as that was part of the appeal of the recipe to me. I reduced the salad ingredients and made two main dish salads both cobb style instead of a large bowl of salad. The other thing that drew my attention was the blue cheese dressing. I was not disappointed there at all. It was very thick, creamy, tart, & chunky and went well with the salad ingredients. I did add more cracked black pepper, but only because I love the stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D July 14, 2009

A really great 'meal' salad, that is hearty and satisfying with a good use of contest ingredients. My only issue (and thus the loss of one star) is with the cheese...the cheddar cheese in the salad and the blue cheese in the dressing were really too much of a good thing, with the blue basically obliterating the taste of the cheddar (the contest ingredient). A tasty dressing could have been devised without the blue and the calorie count would have been significantly lower - 100 calories lower per serving! I would also have liked a bit more onion for this amount of salad. Very much enjoyed this for lunch today, and I know I'll be making it again! Good work, chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 14, 2009

Who would think could improve on simple BLT? Well, this is a TERRIFIC recipe! Subtle, not overpowering is Blue Cheese! Would definately recommend for its simplicity and it did please! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder July 14, 2009
Bacon Lettuce Tomato (And More) Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing